Is Turkish Delight Vegan?
To the uninitiated, their only experience of Turkish Delight comes from CS Lewis’ 1950 novel, The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe, or perhaps even the 2005 film. Edward is tempted by Turkish Delight because it is the thing he loves best:
“‘It is dull, Son of Adam, to drink without eating,’ said the Queen presently. ‘What would you like best to eat?’
‘Turkish Delight, please, your Majesty,’ said Edmund.
The Queen let another drop fall from her bottle on to the snow, and instantly there appeared a round box, tied with green silk ribbon, which, when opened, turned out to contain several pounds of the best Turkish Delight. Each piece was sweet and light to the very centre and Edmund had never tasted anything more delicious.”
This irresistible temptation piqued people’s interests and Turkish Delight sales hit an all-time high. Yet many people still don’t quite understand what Turkish Delight is. Particularly if you’re British, where most likely your only experience of Turkish Delight is covered in chocolate and also not proper Turkish Delight – not naming any names.
So we at Truede consider it our personal mission to give you proper Turkish Delight, because we’re of the opinion that there’s nothing better. We use authentic recipes, some of which date back over 500 years and have the benefit of being made from natural ingredients. Which means that our Turkish Delight is vegan, as well as being both gluten and gm free.
So why not try some Truede Turkish Delight today?
We promise; you’ll be delighted.