The Secrets Behind Popular Ingredients
Dietary considerations make snacking harder, we all know this. However, even when you think you’ve found the perfect product, that’s both tasty and something that you can eat, there might be something in the ingredients that creates problems. Such as these:
Can something made from crushed insects be considered suitable for vegans? Apparently so, in the case of carmine. The red food colouring is obtained from cochineal insects and about 70,000 of them are used to make one pound of dye. Carmine is considered a ‘natural’ dye and can be found in a lot of food and cosmetics products. It also goes by:
- Carminic Acid
- CI 75470
- Cochineal Extract
- Crimson Lake
- E 120
- Natural Red 4
Vitamin D is an important nutrient which helps keep your bones and joints strong. If you didn’t already know, there are three kinds of vitamin D. The most obvious is from the sun and about 10-30 minutes of daily exposure is about all most people need. However, there are commercial supplements – vitamin D2 and D3. The only problem is, not all vitamin D is created equal.
D2 is always vegan, and research from 2009 has shown it can be just as effective as nonvegan forms of D3. But most D3 supplements are not vegan as they come from animal sources – either sheep’s lanolin (a waxy substance that is secreted by glands found in a sheep’s skin) or fish oil in most cases. So, make sure that any product containing vitamins uses the right kind.
Apparently does not mean the same thing to everyone. The term natural flavour or natural flavouring means the essential oil, oleoresin, essence or extractive, protein hydrolysate, distillate, or any product of roasting, heating or enzymolysis, which contains the flavouring constituents. These can literally be derived from anything, so seeing this on your packaging is just as likely to confuse as delight.
Lucky for you, we at Truede take our commitment to ‘natural’ seriously. If we say our products are natural, it’s because we truly believe that fits most people’s definition of the word. For example, our Turkish Delight flavours are made from plant extracts and we list the ingredients on our website so that you can see exactly what’s in our products.
However, we want you to be delighted so if you’ve got any other questions about our ingredients then please get in touch!